Rhapsody of Art

Ecstatic Poetry

Returning to the Blog: Two Poems from an upcoming revision

Leave a comment

Hello Followers! I’m returning from an unintended (but needed) summer break. Spent my summer working with at-risk teens. A rowdy job! I’m returning now with inspiration for revising my latest collection of poetry: The Archer…

I’ve condensed the book into Ecstatic Poetry, only (omitting the short stories), and added new poems that have debuted on this blog, and some that haven’t…

I chose to revise the collection for the sake of its message. This poetry is an internal process, first and foremost, and in the end, I don’t think The Archer was completed in myself, so it always felt short of its mark.

Creative license is the beauty of being an Independent Author… for any of you who are aspiring writers, Indie Publishing is a sound solution, if you’ve not found acceptance in the world of publishing otherwise.

Here are two poems from the new revision… I’m hoping my next post will announce that “The Archer” is ready for readers! Enjoy!

 

Authenticity

 

I don’t know how to navigate

where to go from here.

 

The defense I put up for pain

separates me from everything else.

 

Something in me brings me

back to the hand you put in mine…

 

Can we reconcile the paradoxes

of loving another person?

 

I must forgive myself for living half-hearted—

we live in portions

 

until we become free of division.

Stay with yourself. Don’t follow anyone

 

who expects a miracle from you

or expects the same of you…

Keep authenticity as close

as closeness.

 

Bond with your authenticity

 

and do not give it for ransom

to another feeling inside your skin.

Heartsword

 

When the path grows difficult

I become a cloud casting rocks

I retreat into dense earth, packed

and stoned into deserts and mountains

until my neighbors become foreigners

and friends strange beggars.

Lightning never struck such a wondrous fear

as the unknown.

The Sun never dispelled such a lovely darkness

as the nights we’ve been alone.

As old as any Soul remembers

we have unlearned lessons pouring our sorrows

into heartbreak’s poor broken cups.

I could only hear what I wanted to hear

my thirst was following a sweetness

in the sound of water.

The mistakes have been my own—

from this glitter of silver

I sold all my belongings for a dream of treasure.

What happens to a Man who misread Himself

and stumbles into a dark meadow?

 

 

Someone has been teaching birdsongs to the wolves.

There are teeth waiting in the grass.

His heart quivers in his hands

but a moment is coming

that will awaken both edges of his sword.

 

Author: josephmontgomery108

Joseph Montgomery is an author of three Indie Published works in the genre of Ecstatic Poetry, he is also a teacher, artist, and fiction writer... Writing has been a boyhood channel for his imagination and vivid language of images. As he explores deeper into himself, he now finds poetry as a practice, a probe, into deeper understandings of self and relationship. Joseph continues believing that through practice and poetic listening, an artist connects to a source of creativity, ingenuity, and aliveness, and our Voice is our measure for evolution... "Don't ask what the world needs. Ask yourself what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who are alive." - Howard Thurman

Leave a comment