Rhapsody of Art

Ecstatic Poetry

Revised Edition of “The Archer: Ecstatic Poetry” Available Now

Leave a comment

The revision process is complete… One night as I was lying in bed, I knew I needed to overhaul this collection. I had grown and my art needs to grow with me. It’s a little scary, taking the chance to change something others have already seen… For those who see my changes, means they may also see my mistakes… I tried moving on and letting the book stay as it was… But I guess, if the work wants to help you move forward, you should love the process all over again.

So I’m offering the Introduction to “The Archer” to my followers at ROA… For more from the book, the link at the boarders of the page are updated and you’ll find the books you are looking for… And, of course, I am always writing more.

 

The Archer: Introduction

The process I went through creating this collection has been, most of all, a reclamation of my Self worth.

I composed this book a year before deciding to revise it, my dearest friend saying to me: “Maybe the only thing between you and healing, is this book…” Perhaps that remains true, but I still had a long way to go after my first edition.

After The Archer was published, the book never felt resolved… I had not yet closed the pages within myself. And now, after some time to pen through the emotions, the book is ready to settle into it’s own power… because I am ready too.

To Respect oneself is the primal ingredient for making the Hero’s Journey, a path of growth and potential. Every tradition teaches some form of self-sacrifice… repentance for our nature, casting off the mind, throwing ourselves out to the divine, or walking off clifftops drunk with love… but in a complicated emotional world, we too often spin clever ways to invalidate ourselves.

The poems in this collection come from a period in my life where I was experiencing an emotionally deadly approach to wake me up… during this time, every step I made towards Love was another step away from myself… Wildly confusing! But in the end, it was a no-bullshit remedy to stop my begging, pick up my self-respect, wield a position of dignity, and choose my exit from the old paradigm.

So the poems you are about to read are both capturing the terribly effective way Love shows us our blind spots, carving us deeper into existence, and, the dangers of becoming employees, exchanging our power like currency for love.

Love is the most attractive force I’ve ever known, but without learning to become empowered, secure, and complete within ourselves, and For ourselves, we will continue approaching love as a beggar in our own empire.

 

Author: josephmontgomery108

Joseph Montgomery is an author of three Indie Published works in the genre of Ecstatic Poetry, he is also a teacher, artist, and fiction writer... Writing has been a boyhood channel for his imagination and vivid language of images. As he explores deeper into himself, he now finds poetry as a practice, a probe, into deeper understandings of self and relationship. Joseph continues believing that through practice and poetic listening, an artist connects to a source of creativity, ingenuity, and aliveness, and our Voice is our measure for evolution... "Don't ask what the world needs. Ask yourself what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who are alive." - Howard Thurman

Leave a comment